To Pin or Not to Pin?

I am dipping my toes into the blogosphere. I have read many blogs over the years, and they have been for the most part, very helpful. What I have not found are blogs that help me figure out Pinterest. I see the “pin” link on many of the sites that I visit. I see many search results that are links to a person’s Pinterest board, which in all honesty, I have not spent much time looking at  because I like to read about topics. So, when I did a search for blogs on WordPress on Pinterest, especially for my craft business, I found nothing. In fact, I was invited to write a blog about Pinterest and starting a craft business.

www.pinterest.com 

Grilling mitts for the large man's hand

For a little background, I am a full-time caregiver for a disabled friend. I cannot work outside the home, so I have started an Etsy.com store where I sell handmade cards and small quilted items. If you are curious, you can take a look at my wares at www.etsy.com/store/prettycolorful. You can copy and paste this link into your browser. I have read a few articles about Pinterest being a wonderful resource to drive traffic to your business/store/webpage/etc. I have decided to write a series of blogs about Pinterest and if I can truly drive more traffic to my Etsy store.

I opened up a business Pinterest account and have started my first board by looking at various other boards under the “DIY-Crafts” topic. I titled my first board “A Little Bit Quilted” and selected a few small quilted items that I “pinned” from a few member boards. I also selected some items that I am selling on Etsy as well as some items some other people are selling on Etsy. It may be just a coincidence, but I made a sale on my Etsy store right after I opened up my Pinterest account. I welcome any advice on Pinterest, or selling crafts online.

This a link to my Pinterest board: http://pinterest.com/colorfulcards/a-little-bit-quilted/

Leave a Reply

