Following Directions to Make a Rocking Card

Pink Rocker Card

Pink Rocker Card

If you knew me, you would know that following directions exactly for making any craft project is difficult for me. I almost always make changes. Before I even start on the project, I think “Oh, that might be cool to add to that” and before you know, there is only a suggestion of the original pattern.

I purchased a Hunkydory Crafts card making kit that is a combination of many kits in their “Dreams of Spring” collection, which included a card kit that I would probably not make. I would not be able to give it the Cathy touch (which could be good or bad, depending on your taste). So, as a challenge to myself to learn how to follow directions precisely, I made a Rocker Card. Please forgive the photography, I am still learning. Hunkydory Crafts is a British company, famous for their foiling on their paper and die cuts. If you live outside the UK, you cannot purchase directly from their website. I purchased the kit from www.paperwishes.com, which by the way has an excellent product demo for making the card. http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4006337

For those of you interested in checking out Hunkydory Crafts, here is their website: http://www.hunkydorycrafts.co.uk

Instructions on making a Rocker Card

Die shapes for rocker card

Base Rocker Card pieces

There are 4 cards that can be made from this kit; I chose to do the pink one. Above are the  images of the entire die cut shapes punched out. Start with the oval shape and punch out the slots in the front and the back, this is where the base shelf is inserted. Punch out the slots on the base shelf unit. Fold the oval base at the score lines. (See figures 1 and 2) Insert the base shelf by folding down the tabs at the rear and place it in the open area of the base unit.

Base die cut shapes

Happy Birthday units

Place the following die cuts in order, back to front: Happy, Birthday, smaller scalloped die cut. Fold back the tabs to insert into the slot, and then open the tabs up, this locks the dies in place. Then pick out which die cut shapes you want to use to embellish the card, and voila, you are done. It took be about 10 minutes to make this card, and half of that time was used by punching out the die cuts.

Although this is a pretty card, it is not a card that I would end up sending to anyone. It just does not have my personal touch. I would not sell this on my Etsy store either, for the same reason. But if you are someone who just wants to make pretty cards that display well, you should try this kit.

One thought on “Following Directions to Make a Rocking Card

  1. Pingback: Revisiting my most viewed blog | prettycolorful

Leave a Reply

