Second Card from my Personal Challenge

Image

I decided to use the leftover bits of paper from my first card to create the second card. I used green paper from my stash, a few Dazzle Stickers and I quickly came up with a new design for another 5 x 7 inch card. I used up the remainder of the Hunkydory Pretty Presents light purple Topiary and Gift design card insert sheet as the focal design on the card front.

Materials Used:

  • Purple cardstock for the card base, 7 x 10 inches
  • Topiary tree design portion of the light purple card insert sheet and the strip with the sentiment “Especially for You” that was left over from making Card #1.
  • Green paper from my Stash
  • Hot Off the Press Thin Gold Line Dazzles
  • Hot Off the Press Gold Christmas Greetings Dazzles
  • Hot Off the Press Gold Jewel Dazzles and a Dazzle gold star sticker from my stash
  • Scrap of purple cardstock (leftover from trimming)

I used the 7 x 10 inch purple cardstock for my card base, scoring and folding in half to create a 5 x 7 inch card. I covered the card with green paper from my stash that matched the green in the topiary tree design. I trimmed the topiary design paper to a 4 ½ x 6 ½ inch rectangle and glued it to the front of the card. I added small gold jewel Dazzles to the topiary tree for some added glitz to the design and placed the  “Merry Christmas” from the Gold Christmas Greetings Dazzles at the top of the card.

I trimmed a 1 ¾ x 4 ½ strip of the leftover portion of the light purple paper, matted it on green paper and glued it vertically on the inside of the card. I used  the gold thin line dazzles to create a border on the light purple paper. I trimmed the “Especially for You” printed part of the paper into a rectangle approximately 1 x 2 ¼ inches.  I then matted this rectangle on a scrap of the purple cardstock, leaving a 1 1/16 inch border of the purple cardstock. I matted this rectangle on the green paper and glued it horizontally across the vertical rectangle. I placed a gold star on the lower right corner of the rectangle.

Image

This card came together quickly. I have used up one piece of paper from the Hunkydory Pretty Presents set, some supplemental paper and cardstock to create two cards. The gold Dazzles add a nice touch and coordinate with the gold foiling of the paper and die-cuts in this kit.

This kit has sold out from http://www.paperwishes.com,  and http://www.hunkdorycrafts.co.uk, but you can take a look at the contents on http://www.hunkydorycrafts.co.uk/acatalog/Stylish-Season-Topper-Set—Pretty-Presents-STYLE909.html#SID=2

Leave a Reply

