Personal Challenge Card Number 3

Here is Christmas Card Number 3!

Image

I really enjoy making Christmas Cards from one of the 10 sets of die-cuts and paper from Hunkydory’s Stylish Season Luxury Card Kit. The color scheme for this kit is purple and green, which go together very nicely (they are complementary colors). For today’s card, I am adding the light gold printed Adorable Scorable and printed paper.

Last year I finally got a die-cutting machine, a Sizzix Big Kick, and I only have one set of dies so far. I do have a few embossing folders, but none of them have the Christmas theme. The die-cut set that I have is the Sizzlets Decorative Frames set that is designed by Scrappy Cat for Sizzix. The die that I am using is a 2 1/8 inch circle doily frame that cuts a small circle out from the center. The small circle die-cuts in the cardmaking set fit perfectly inside the doily die.  Aha! Inspiration, I will frame the two foiled and printed die-cuts and use them as my theme for Christmas Card #3!

Materials Used:

  • Purple cardstock for the card base, 7 x 10 inches
  • The two small circle die-cuts: candle and “Merry Christmas”
  • Ornament border die-cut
  • Light gold scalloped Adorable Scorable and printed paper
  • Purple paper from my stash
  • Hot Off the Press Gold Snowflake Dazzles
  • Foam squares
  • Sizzix Big Kick Die-cutting machine
  • Sizzix Sizzlets Decorative Frame – Circle Doily die
  • Approximately 6 inches of 1/8 inch white ribbon
  • Glue

I started off making my cardbase from the purple 7 x 10 inch piece of purple cardstock, which I scored and folded to make a 5 x 7 card. I trimmed a piece of the gold bow and scalloped Adorable Scorable to 4 ½ x 6 ½ inches and glued to the front of the card.

I used the purple paper from my stash to make 2 doily circle frames (reserve the circle die-cuts for later use) and glued the two circle die-cuts (candle and Merry Christmas) to the doily frame.  I threaded about a 6 inch length of narrow white ribbon through the two doily die-cuts and knotted each end.  I positioned the doily frames to vertically center the shapes on the front of the card and used foam dots under the die-cuts. I glued the ribbon to the top of the card. I trimmed a 5 inch length of the garland border die-cut to the top of the card. I used a thin gold border Dazzle to the bottom of the light gold cardstock.

I trimmed the light gold paper insert so that the “Merry Christmas” sentiment was centered on a 5 x 7 rectangle. I glued this to the inside of the card and applied gold snowflake dazzles in the top and bottom corners of the paper.

Image

I still have half of the two light gold papers left over, more than enough to make my next card.

I have really enjoyed using Hunkydory’s Adorable Scorable. They claim that their Adorable Scorable does not crack when you score it. It does score beautifully, and makes a beautiful card interior. I highly recommend Hunkydory Crafts card making kits. For those of us in the US, the best place to purchase a kit is from www.paperwishes.com.

 Christmas Card # 4 is coming soon!

Leave a Reply

