Final Card in my Personal Card Making Challenge

Image

I made seven cards out of the Pretty Presents set from Hunkydory Crafts Stylish Season Christmas card kit. I don’t know if it was me, but shortly after I started to blog about this set, it sold out from www.paperwishes.com, where I bought the set, and then it sold out on Hunkydory Craft’s web site (www.hunkydorycrafts.co.uk), and finally, the Pretty Presents individual set just recently sold out on Hunkydory Crafts website as well. Hunkydory makes beautiful and high quality card making die-cuts, paper and cardstock. Their products are exquisite and a joy to work with.

I had just one  die-cut, one border die-cut strip and scraps of paper and cardstock left for me to create my last card. My inspiration was a “twisted easel card” that I saw demonstrated on a video. I figured out how to create this card, it is an unusual style, but it fit perfectly with the little bits that I had left from the card making set. I created a diagram on Illustrator to explain how to make the card.

Materials:

  • 7 inch square of purple cardstock, 3 1/8 inch square
  • Leftover bits of green printed and suede paper
  • Purple Adorable Scorable 2 ¼ x 7 inch rectangle
  • Gift die-cut
  • Purple and gold stars border die-cut strip
  • Hot Off the Press Dazzle stickers: gold borders, poinsettia and present stickers  from one of the Christmas  Dazzle sets
  • Hot Off the Press Petit Gold Dazzles: “Peace” sticker
  • Green 7/8 inch button
  • 3D Crystal Lacquer
  • Purple circle leftover from the doily die-cut from card # 3
  • Glue

Image

Following the paper engineering instructions for the twisted easel card, score the 7 inch square in half and cut a 3 ½ square off the upper right inside of the card. Score the remaining 3 ½ section of the top of the card from the bottom left edge to the top right edge of the square. The bottom section of this square is where the image is glued and which creates the “twisted” effect. The diagram shows where to make the cuts and the scores. You might want to practice this fold a few times to make sure that you get the desired effect. The important thing is that you glue your image to the outside of the card and fold the scored triangle line to the inside of the card.

Cover the inside of the card with layers of the green printed paper, purple Adorable Scorable, and purple and gold star border die-cut so that the green printed paper shows between the Adorable Scorable and purple die-cut border.

I used gold line border dazzles on the top and bottom of the purple Adorable Scorable so that it matched the gold border on the die-cut strip.

I matted the gift die-cut on purple cardstock and then matted the square on green printed paper and attached the square so that top of the design lined up with the left edge of the 3 ½ square of the front of the card and glued it to the bottom scored triangle. When you fold the glued image to the inside, the image straitens up and has a slight twist.

To finish off the inside of the card, I glued a small purple circle to the inside of the green button using 3D Crystal Lacquer. You will need to let this dry overnight before you continue. I also glued the button to the leftover purple circle from one of the die-cuts from the doily die used on card number 3. I used a scrap of green suede paper and put a couple of present Dazzles and “Peace” Dazzle, and mounted the rectangle of scraps of purple cardstock. I glued this to the right side of the inside of the card. When the button dried, I topped it off with poinsettia gold Dazzle. This is the “stop” for the easel part of the card. Fold the image down and glue the button circle on the inside of the card.

This personal Christmas card making challenge blog series was a lot of fun. What will I come up with next?

Leave a Reply

