Playing with the Center Step card blanks

I’m back with another one of Hot Off the Press’s new die-cut card blank sets. Today’s cards are from the Center Step card blanks. I have made these in different sizes, but it was so much quicker to make the cards using a pre-cut, pre-scored card blank. Yay! I have to say that Hot Off the Press has done me a huge favor in making these cards. I decided to keep up with the running theme of using a similar color scheme and cardmaking recipe for these two cards. However, I have changed the paper from Hot Off the Press to Hunkydory Crafts. If you are one my readers from the UK, you probably know all about Hunkydory Crafts. They make fabulous products, they use a heavy weight cardstock, with the European paper weight measurement of 350 gsm (grams per square meter); it is about equivalent to 110 lb. cardstock. What sets Hunkydory apart from the crowd is their foiling. Their products are glittery, shiny, glamorous and fabulous. Their “Adorable Scorable” is specially coated so that it does not crack when you score it. I promise you, this is the truth. I discovered Hunkydory from Paper Wishes about a year ago. Paper Wishes is one of the major suppliers of their products in the United States. The paper and die-cuts that I am using are no longer in stock at www.paperwishes.com, but there are other cardmaking kits available, and they are all gorgeous. Hunkydory does not ship to the US yet, they are planning on being able to ship to the US later this year.

twilight butterfly center step cardThe first card I made is from the Twilight Butterflies kit, and the color is a deep violet with gold foil. I added violet suede paper from my stash and light purple rhinestone Bling from Want2Scrap. I added some gold Dazzle Stickers from Hot Off the Press: butterfly and birthday greetings. In hind sight, I think this card would have been a little better if I had completely covered the front with Adorable Scorable, and not left a white edge. The narrow side wings were a perfect spot for me to use some texture, so I cut strips of suede paper, and then added 3 rhinestones to each side.  The gold “Happy birthday” on the bottom ties into the gold foiling of the die-cuts. The butterfly is actually a die-cut within a die-cut. I just popped out the wings and curled them slightly. I also placed foam squares under the circle die-cut and applied it so the left edge is slightly off the center of the card. I added 3 gold butterflies to the right edge of the center.

lace in bloom center step cardI used a much lighter color of blue and purple for the second card, with silver foil accents instead of gold. The die cut is more of an octagonal shape, rather than round. I do love the vases with hydrangea flowers. The paper has a faint hydrangea background print, so it coordinates and echoes the hydrangeas. Instead of rhinestones, I used Hot Off the Press blue Dazzle border stickers on the wings of the card. I added tiny blue rhinestones (they match the border Dazzles perfectly) at the corners of the center die-cut, and added a birthday sentiment die cut at the bottom. I also added a silver butterfly Dazzle on the left edge, with a little bit of the blue border for its body.  The white borders on this card work much better.

The next cards will be from the Side-step card blanks.

Here are a few links to the products that I used with these two cards:

www.paperwishes.com (Dazzles stickers, and where I purchased the Bling and the Hunkydory Kits.)

http://www.hunkydorycrafts.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/HunkydoryCrafts

http://www.createandcraft.tv/ (The UK’s Craft Shopping Channel’s website, they sell all kinds of crafting products, including Hunkydory, and they do ship many items to the US.)

One thought on “Playing with the Center Step card blanks

Leave a Reply

