Taking a Side Step

I took a good look through my paper stash to see which papers and images would work with the Side Step Card Blanks from Hot Off the Press. I decided to stay with a similar recipe, using oval die-cuts for the side area of the card and small stickers or die-cuts embellishing the “steps.”  I have a Hunkydory individual card kit that is actually still available at www.paperwishes.com. The kit is called Pink Celebrate and has black Adorable Scorable (http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4006323). For the second card, I used more die-cuts and cardstock from the Lace in Bloom kit that is no longer available.

Materials Used

  • Hot Off the Press Side Step Card Blank set http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4103426)
  • Hunkydory Pink Celebrate Card Kit
  • Pink foiled cardstock from my stash
  • Black lacy Dazzle border stickers from my stash
  • Hunkydory Lace in Bloom luxury card making kit
  • Pink ribbon bow
  • Glue dot runner
  • Foam tape

 

pink and black side step cardFor my first card, I decided that I needed to have the entire card, front and back, covered with the black Adorable Scorable. I traced the front and back of the cards onto the plain black cardstock from the kit and edged the pieces with black ink. I also measured the steps of the front of the card and cut them out of the black cardstock. I used some foiled pink cardstock from stash and traced the templates from the card blanks onto the back of the cardstock. This cardstock is a match for the pink foiling on the die-cuts from the Pink Celebrate kit. There are several die-cuts in this kit, but I chose the cake and the “Birthday Wishes” die-cuts from the set. I applied foam tape to the back of each die-cut. I used some lacy black Dazzles stickers from my stash, from some Dazzles stickers that are out of stock, but they have all kinds of border dazzles at www.paperwishes.com. The die-cuts have pink and silver foiling, and the card looks so elegant and classy.

 

pink and white side step cardFor my second card, I found an oval die-cut with three roses in vases from the Lace in Bloom kit. There was a coordinating piece of Adorable Scorable with a ghosted rose print and silver lacy foiling on the border. I used the border edge of the cardstock on the “steps” and cut a piece without the border for the front of the card. I found some small, pink die-cuts of a butterfly and a heart with a silver foiled butterfly print, and a die cut that has silver lacy border that says “On your special Day” and stuck some foam tape to each of the die cuts and layered them on the card. I glued a pink bow to the bottom of the roses die-cut. This is also a very elegant looking card. I think that I will probably put these cards up for sale at my Etsy shop, which is also called Pretty Colorful. Because I don’t have a commercial blog account, I can’t post a link to my shop.

 

I really liked how my cards turned out.

 

2 thoughts on “Taking a Side Step

  1. Two really pretty cards. If you pushed me to decide on a favourite (which would be a difficult choice because they’re both so lovely and so very well made) … I think … I’d go for … {scrolls back yet again to try and help with the decision} . . . the second one. No .. the first… second… first.. oh heck! I like them both. I love the colours on the first – it’s such a strikingly beautiful card. And I love the softness of the second. The roses, the butterfly and the colours … oh, just everything about it. Two really beautiful cards.

    Great Makes, PrettyC! ~ Cobs.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. I think I am going to put these cards up for sale in my Etsy Shop (prettycolorful). Some cards are hard to let go, though.

Leave a Reply

