I Toiled on the Papier Toile

For the last of the die-cut card blank sets, the Shutter Card, from Hot Off the Press, I had a bit of a challenge. I completely messed up one card because I did not double check to see how all of the elements would work on the card first. I learned from this mistake. I then spent a great deal of time going through my stamps, my papers, and my die-cut shapes. The Hunkydory kits that I have didn’t have the right size and shape of die-cuts that worked (ergo, messed up card and wasted Adorable Scorable). My Artful Card kits were too depleted of elements to do a good job. Aha, remember, we belong to Paper Wishes Papier Tole Personal Shopper club. I have several Papier Tole kits that I have done nothing with. So, I looked through my stash, found a couple of good contenders, and set about looking for coordinating papers from my stash. I do get about 5 or 6 12 x 12 papers with my kit, which comes every other month. I also have papers from my Dazzles Personal Shopper kits which come every month. Most of the supplies that I used in making these two cards are still available at www.paperwishes.com. All of the paper and embellishments come from Hot Off the Press.

Supplies Used:

Card Number One “Thinking of You”

mirage papier tole shutter cardI used one of the pink and silver foiled floral designs from the Mirage Foiled Papier Tole kt. I have not purchased the coordinating paper set because I have way too much paper. So I dug around my immense stash and found papers that coordinate with each other and the papier tole. I found a distressed dark rose print and a stripe with distressed black and pink stripes. I used the rose for the front and the stripe for the inside back. I found a cream colored paper with tiny black dots that I used for the middle inserts and a pink tone on tone print for the center rectangle, and the top and bottom of the middle part of the card.  There are three different designs on the Mirage Foiled Papier Tole, any one would have worked, but I went with the floral spray. If you have not done papier tole, it is very easy, you punch out the die-cut pieces, which are numbered, and layer the pieces on each other using foam squares to create a 3D embellishment. For the center panel, I used a black lacy flower Dazzle, and placed a couple of small black flower Dazzles on the upper left and lower left corners of the front. I placed a pink jewel Dazzle border on the left edge of the front and the right edge of the inside of the card. I applied some black lacy border Dazzles on the top and bottom center strips, and placed “Thinking of You” on the black dotted paper on the inside right of the card. I added a couple of pink jeweled flower Dazzles to the front of the card to add to the sparkle.

Card Number Two “Just Smile”

geometric papier tole shutter cardI had the Geometric Papier Tole for some time and couldn’t figure out what to do with it. This is one of the older papier tole sets and it has two sheets of designs. Since chevrons are still fairly popular and common, I thought, why not use this. I had a couple of sheets of the coordinating paper, one of which has a chevron border. I had a piece of blue tone on tone paper that matched the blue in the design and came up with a funky, happy kind of card. I used a gold print for the front and right inside, cut out the center rectangle piece from the blue, and all the rest came from the gray paper with the chevron border. I cut out a piece of the chevron border and glued it to the right inside of the card which reflected the chevron papier tole design on the front. I used the phrase “Just Smile” from the black Camera Dazzles set, and one of the camera Dazzles, for the larger center rectangle. The “Just Smile” peeks out when the card is closed. On the inside, I had some blue “Happy Birthday” Dazzles that came with my Personal Shopper kit, which is not available for individual sale. Well, this is the last of the new die cut card blanks. I had fun creating cards from these sets.  I will be coming to you soon with personal challenge blog soon. If any of you out there are curious about Paper Wishes Personal Shopper kits program, here is the link: http://www.paperwishes.com/personal-shopper/monthly-scrapbooking-cardmaking-kits.html?WT.hotp_ct=home-ps-box

2 thoughts on “I Toiled on the Papier Toile

Leave a Reply

