Starting On My Christmas Cards

cardinal3This week I started making Christmas cards. I haven’t made a lot of progress; I have only done 2 cards so far. I had to take the summer off because we had guests and I need to haul all of my crafting supplies into the living room in order to work on projects. I’m mixing a little new with a little old. I have a lot of paper from previous years so I really need to use them up before I buy any new paper. Most of my cardstock is either from Stampin’ Up from 2000-20006, Michael’s Recollection, and Hunkydory Craft’s Adorable Scorable. I have been interested in trying Papertrey Ink’s cardstock, but I have to use up my existing stash so I can at least fit more paper into my storage bins and drawers. I’m hoping to put these two cards up for sale in my Etsy Shop (prettycolorful).
I used Hot Off the Press’s Shutter Die-cut Card blank for my cardinal card, and a standard 5 x 7 white card blank for the chalkboard card. The cardinal card closed measures about 3 ¾ x 6 ½ inches; open it measures almost 12 x 6 ½ inches. I love the interactive play of this card. I know that you can buy cutting dies to make these cards. Hot Off the Press just added a plastic template that you can use to make these cards from any kind of cardstock. I think I might invest in this template. I have had the cardinal papier tole for a year or two, and I just got the chalkboard Christmas papier tole in June. I belong to Paper Wishes Papier Tole Personal Shopper program and I receive a kit with two packages of papier tole, plus a few sheets of paper, every other month. With the exception of the A7 (5×7) card blank and the white embossing powder, all of the materials in these two cards come from Hot Off the Press.
chalkboard1In keeping with the new chalkboard trend, Hot Off the Press has a brand new Christmas Chalkboard set. I only have the papier tole right now, but there is a 12×12 paper kit, Dazzles and “Embellies,” which include brads with an epoxy finish. I hope you like this card. I used a stamp from HOTP’s Christmas Cheer Stamps set that I purchased last year. The stamps are also in the chalkboard style and worked well stamped with Versamark onto green texture paper and embossed with white embossing powder.
chalkboard2I purchased my Hot Off the Press supplies at their website: http://www.paperwishes.com. You can visit my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/prettycolorfulcardsandquilts?ref=bookmarks and “like” me, I can use a few more likes.

3 thoughts on “Starting On My Christmas Cards

Leave a Reply

