Christmas Ruby Shoes!

Well, I have been plugging away at more Christmas cards this week, and I thought that I would continue with the stylish and fashionable theme. I bought the Contemporary Christmas card kit by Hunkydory Crafts and it has some gorgeous red shoe die-cuts. They were just calling out to me to make next. I made three cards from the little sub-set, but I am only going to share one card with you. The red shoes reminded me of the ruby slippers in The Wizard of Oz, so I did a spin on that theme. The shoe die-cuts are absolutely gorgeous and have gold foil accents.
Christmas shoe easel card.I made a base card that is 5 ¼ inches wide by 5 ½ inches tall finished size. I have some olive green Stampin’ Up cardstock from about 2005. It has a good weight for a base card. I thought that I would make an easel card using one of the red shoe die-cuts. I created a rectangular box on my computer that says “Click your heels together three times and say “There’s no day like Christmas, there’s no day like Christmas, there’s no day like Christmas.” I used this as the “stopper” for the easel card.

Supplies:

• Easel card base: 5 ¼ x 10 inch piece of at least 80# cardstock, you need some weight to support the die-cuts.
• Foam squares for the shoe die-cut and the inside “Click your heels” sentiment.
• 5 ¼ x 5 ½ inch piece of red cardstock.
• 5 x 5 ¼ inch piece of black cardstock.
• 2 ½ x 5 inch piece of gold foil or holographic paper to back the text. http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4110459
• 5 ¼ x 5 ½ inch piece of printed paper to coordinate with the die-cut. I used a red swirly snowflake print from Hot Off the Press’s Christmas Sweets paper pack. ttp://www.paperwishes.com/products/4104214
• Hunkydory Crafts Contemporary Christmas card kit: Red shoes die-cut topper sheet. I used the larger of the two shoe die-cuts; the one with the black background and the holly frame. http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4002534
• Computer journal a rectangular text box about 4 ¼ inches wide by 1 7/8 inches tall: Click your heels together three times and say “There’s no day like Christmas, there’s no day like Christmas, there’s no day like Christmas.”
• Thin ribbon or gold sticker for the inside. I used one thin gold border Dazzle. http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4102404
• (4) Identical small embellishments for the four corners of the front of the card. I used gold snowflake Dazzles from a previous year that I could not find a listing, and put a tiny red jewel Dazzle in the center. You could use rhinestones or brads. Red jewel dazzles: http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4101557

red shoe Christmas cardDirections:

Step 1: Cut a 5 ¼ x 11 inch strip from cardstock (the sheet I used was 8 ½ x 11). Score it at 5 ½ inches, and then score one 5 ½ section in half. This forms the easel. Layer the 5 x 5 ½ inch piece of black cardstock on the 5 ¼ x 5 ½ inch piece of red cardstock so you get about a 1/8 inch red border.
Step 2: Separate the shoe and frame die-cuts. I did not use the thin gold frame: I only used the shoes and the holly border frame. Center the holly frame border on the layered black and red cardstock and glue it down. Place foam squares evenly on the back of the shoe die-cut and place it in the center of the holly frame.
Step 3: Use a small embellishment (such as the gold snowflake Dazzles) on each of the four corners of the card top.
Step 4: Glue only the bottom scored portion of the card base to the bottom of the card top. This creates the easel mechanism.inside of easel Christmas card.
Step 5: Glue the 5 ¼ x 5 ½ inch piece of printed paper to the inside bottom of the card. Glue the “Click your heels” sentiment to the gold holographic (or whatever gold cardstock that you have) and leave about ¼ inch border of the gold. It is a really good idea to have a shiny gold paper to complement the gold foiling of the die-cut. Place foam squares on the back of the sentiment. Flip the front of the “easel” portion of the card down to determine the position of the “stopper”; I placed mine about 2 7/8 inches from the bottom. I applied a thin gold border Dazzle about ¼ inches from the bottom border of the card.

I purchased most of my supplies from http://www.paperwishes.com. Paper Wishes is the largest resource for Hunkydory Crafts card kits in the US; however, if you are one of my international visitors, you most likely have local resources to purchase kits.

If you are a scrapbooker, and interested in some free classes, check out Paper Wishes Scrapbook Week of Webisodes September 22-26, 2014. http://www.paperwishes.com/webisodes/index.php?page=choose&WT.hotp_ct=home-webisode-box. Paper Wishes Webisodes are some of the best classes for crafting. They do a great job in demonstrating techniques and bringing new products. Best of all, the classes are FREE!

Easel Red Shoe Christmas CardThank you for visiting my blog.

5 thoughts on “Christmas Ruby Shoes!

    • Thank you. I used to be a secretary, and my poor creative soul became so stifled. You do some fabulous photographs, I love to see what you post and write about, so I would say that you are pretty creative yourself. You have a great eye.

Leave a Reply

