Valentine Swing Cards

handmade bee mine cardSince Valentine’s Day is just around the corner, I thought that I should make a couple of cards to put in my Etsy shop. So I made two cards using products from Hot Off the Press: The Honeysuckle Artful Card Kit, scrapbook stickers and Paper Tole kits.bee mine card

The first one was inspired by using a “bee” and the word “mine” for a play on words. I think that it turned out pretty cute. I used the beehive border paper tole accent and cut it apart so that the effect of the border is there when the card is closed. The paper tole has silver foil accents, so the card reflects a little light. I wanted to make a card that was more fun that “girly” I also used the “waste” from the honeycomb border and layered them on the black honeycomb stickers. The Artful card kit has lots of die-cuts, so I used a few of the flowers, and layered a small flower over a bigger flower. It’s very dimensional. I just love to use foam squares when making my cards.

love valentine card

My other card is a little more elaborate. I used flowers from Petaloo, white Dazzles stickers, tiny red rhinestones and the dark gray and floral papers for the background. The artful card kit comes with a sheet of labels that have some with sayings and some blank. I computer journaled the word “Love” on one of the blank labels. I used the Edwardian script font which turned out just perfect. I used my Christmas gift card to buy all of the things that I used for this card, including a set of heart cutting dies. The dies had the perfect size hearts to use for the large heart swing section of the cards.

love valentine card

Here is a link to my Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/prettycolorful?ref=hdr_shop_menu

Here is a link to the Honeysuckle line of products from Hot Off the Press: http://www.paperwishes.com/scripts/relevance_search.php?query=Honeysuckle&project_search=0

3 thoughts on “Valentine Swing Cards

Leave a Reply

