Mother’s Day Pull-up Card

Pull-up Mother's Day card

Pull-up Mother’s Day card

I have been absent from blogging for the past few months because of my knee.  This has been a little depressing for me since I really love to craft and I wasn’t able to move around much. The problem has been identified and I am getting treatment for my poor knee (advanced osteoarthritis). So, I am easing myself back into my crafty ways and decided that I should start with a nice, simple Mother’s Day Card.

For those of you who follow my blog, you probably know that I am a big fan of Hot of the Press’s products. I started making cards using their kits, and their products have been getting better and better over the years. Paper Wishes is their online and catalog sister company that sells HOTP products along with a lot of other craft products (www.paperwishes.com). One of the nifty things that you can get from Paper Wishes is a monthly Personal Shopper Kit. I get two: Premiere Dazzles and Paper Tole. In the April 2015 Dazzles kit was a “never before seen Dazzles” for lavender Mother’s Day Dazzles which are only in black on their website. A few months ago I received the Unforgettable Foil Paper Tole kit and I thought that these items would make a great Mother’s Day card.

The Dazzles monthly kit always has some extra goodie, and a few months ago I received a die-cut pull-up card (it comes in two pieces). This makes a cute little pocket card that measures 5 x 5 inches square. So, with just some glue, ultra tape and foam squares, I had enough items from my Personal Shoppers kits to make this cute Mother’s Day Card.

HOTP die-cut pull-up card blank

HOTP die-cut pull-up card blank

Supplies:

Step 1

Fold the die-cut card base at the score lines.  Fold in the two flaps on the card and apply ¼ inch ultra tape. See photo for placement.  For the pocket piece, mountain fold the tab and put the ultra tape on the bottom edge of the tab on the back.  If you look at my photos you can see how I place the pieces together.

Inside of the pull-up card blank.

Inside of the pull-up card blank.

Step 2

Glue decorative paper to the inside of the card. I used the plum paper for the pocket piece and the top of the die-cut edge.  I trimmed the paper along the die-cut edge.  I only glued the plum paper to the pocket piece that shows, leaving the back white. I glued the aqua printed paper to the middle of the inside of the card, leaving the bottom plain. Then I took the orange liner off of the two flaps and glued the bottom to the aqua paper in the middle, forming the pocket.

I used the only the bottom layer of the scalloped oval frame image from the Unforgettable Paper Tole, and glued it to the center of the pocket piece.  I then applied the words “Love you Mom” from the lavender dazzles to the image.  I placed the folded edge of the pocket piece so that the bottom of the top flap sits just slightly above the score line, and glued the flap down. I then tucked the pocket piece into the pocket.  When you lift the flap, the pocket piece slides up from the pocket;  you can have fun just opening and closing this card.

mother3

Step 3

I glued the floral printed paper to the outside of the pocket and the flap (the front of the card).  I trimmed the edge of the paper along the die-cut edge of the card. I then inked all of the edges of the card with purple ink. I glued the lacy floral/butterfly paper tole piece to the bottom of the card so that the butterfly aligns with the right edge and trimmed the excess off the left side. I then layered the paper tole butterfly images using foam tape. The images are all numbered on the paper tole sheet so you just follow the numbers. I applied the “Happy Mother’s Day” Dazzle stickers to the top flap and added the little extra butterfly artwork at the top right edge.

Pull-up card center flap.

Pull-up card center flap.

This makes a very nice little card, and you can tuck a little something into the pocket as well.

Paper Wishes Premiere Dazzles Personal Shopper:  http://www.paperwishes.com/personal-shopper/pd/monthly-premiere-dazzles.html

4 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Pull-up Card

  1. Wow. Such a pretty card and what incredible colours! I love the whole thing, but have to admit that I’m just a little bit keen (ok, a lot keen) on that fabulous butterfly!

    Great to have you back. I hope the knee continues to improve and that you begin to feel more like your old self again very soon.

    Sending love and crafty hugs … and maybe a hot water bottle for the knee, and a bag of frozen peas for when it’s needed. ~ Cobs. x

Leave a Reply

