Compass Birthday Card

It is always a challenge creating a masculine birthday card. Since I have brothers and a nephew, I’m constantly scratching my head to come up with something that they won’t refer to as “sissy” or “girly.”  I have seen many posts and comments from other crafters who are looking for masculine card ideas. Every once in a while someone puts out a wonderful masculine scrapbooking or cardmaking kit, and they usually sell out fast.

I have been enjoying some of the mustache-themed stickers, stamps and artwork, but it doesn’t necessarily work for all guys, especially teen-age boys. Skater images work for the younger males, but not so much for a 50-something man.

compas birthday card

I gave myself a challenge to make a birthday card that has a masculine feel just by digging through my stash. If you have been following my blog, you know that I’m a fan of Hot Off the Press’s products. I love their paper; it is 80 lb. and is not too light or too heavy. I usually do a collage when I make my cards and many of the papers on the market are just too heavy for this technique. I also love their Dazzles stickers, which are solid-colored stickers that have an embossed look, and can be placed on all kinds of surfaces, not just paper.

The inspiration for this compass card came from Hot Off the Press’s Trail Blazer Foil Paper Tole.  I went through my stash of stamps and Dazzles stickers to come up with a phrase that would work with the compass artwork. I chose “Follow Your Own Path” from the Gold Petit Dazzles, and used some arrows from the Trail Blazer Scrapbooking Dazzles. I dug around through my paper stash and found a rusty-orange wood grain print paper with an arrow border (I had no clue what to do with this paper until now) and thought that these would work together. I had some kraft A7 card blanks, and inspiration for a masculine card. I found some plain chocolate-brown paper and some mustard-colored paper that has a small hound’s tooth pattern for the background for the compass artwork.  Paper tole is a layering technique (also called decoupage in some areas) where you build a dimensional image by layering the artwork on foam squares. I created a large banner from the rust paper and matted it on a brown tone-on-tone paper for the inside and placed a black “Happy Birthday” sticker and a crossed arrow sticker.

This might be a good card for someone who does a lot of hiking and camping, perhaps Boy Scouts and Eagle Scouts, or navigators. I also thought that this effect would be good on paper that has a map printed on it.

compas card inside

Products Used:

I subscribe to a couple of Hot Off the Press’s Personal Shopper kits: Premiere Dazzles and Paper Tole; the Paper tole kit is bi-monthly and the Dazzles kit is monthly and they are only $12.99 each, including shipping. There are also other Personal Shopper kits if you are interested, there is a link on the main page of their website: www.paperwishes.com.

4 thoughts on “Compass Birthday Card

Leave a Reply

