Curve Appeal

Christmas Cards Number 5 and 6

These two cards have circles, ovals and arches as the main design theme. The design focus is a large circle or oval.

Sparkly nature Christmas tree card

Card Number 5: Nature’s Christmas Tree

Inside of gate-fold Christmas cardI loved the midnight background for this large circle tree hung with ornaments. The foiling is a silver holographic foil that just sparkles like glitter. The coordinating Adorable Scorable has very large sparkly trees that I thought would work perfect for the inside of a gate-fold card, and the circle die-cut really lends itself to that type of card as well. I used a medium dark purple cardstock for the base and some blue, teal and purple snowflake paper (we saw this on the Polar Bear card) to line the inside of the wings, and the paper “ribbon” band that slides over the card. I thought that the small circle die-cut with the little animals and their presents made a nice little touch. The inside sentiment is “May your days be Merry, your heart be light, your holiday happy, your season bright” embossed in white on gray textured paper. I covered the front wings of the card with the piece of Adorable Scorable that has a winter landscape with small silver snowflakes.

This kit came from the 2014 Hunkydory Contemporary Christmas kit.  I used Hot Off the Press’s Christmas Cheer stamp set: http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4101122. The folded size of this card is 5 x 7 inches.

Card Number 6: Square Toy Store Window Card

Toy  store window Christmas card

I tried a new technique with this 6 inch square card. I received a 6 inch embossing folder and stamp set as a free gift with a magazine and decided to use the embossing folder on some red Adorable Scorable. As I have stated before, Adorable Scorable, even though it is pretty thick, embosses beautifully. A tip is to lightly mist the back of the cardstock to loosen the fibers before you run the cardstock through your die-cutting/embossing machine. I sanded the embossed area to let the white paper core show through and added a few white stickers. I left about ½ inch edge which I scored and creased. I trimmed out the center oval part of the embossed design to create a window. I wanted to let the arch-shaped Toy Store Window die-cut show through the window

Inside of window Christmas card

I used a piece of ultra sticky tape to glue a 6 inch piece of snowfall acetate to the inside of the scored edge of the card. If I had really thought about it, I should have cut the acetate about ¼ inch wider, scored it and glued it so the tape did not show on the inside of the card. It is not overly noticeable, but I see it and it might bother some people. I glued the ½ inch tab to the back of a 6 inch square piece of light teal Adorable Scorable that coordinated with the Toy Store Window arched die-cut. I then used a piece of red paper to cover the back of the card. There were some die-cut borders and tags that came on the die-cut sheet with the toy store die-cut, and I glued and trimmed the red borders to the inside of the card, and put a narrow white ribbon through the little tag and used a foam square and mounted it on the lower right corner of the red cardstock on the back. I added some lacy white border stickers to the top and bottom edges of the inside of the card.

I hope that these Christmas cards inspire you to use some new techniques.

3 thoughts on “Curve Appeal

Leave a Reply

