Christmas Cards with Pizazz

Christmas Cards Number 7 and 8

For these two cards, I had a lot of coordinating pieces left over. Both of these designs give a little more impact, and I added something extra to make each one a little more elegant. Both cards measure 5 x 6 ½ inches, and have a lot of beautiful foil accents. Both of these sets come from Hunkydory Crafts 2014 Contemporary Christmas cardmaking kit. These cards really show the beauty and intricacy of Hunkydory Crafts cardmaking kits.

shiny Santa in his sleigh cardCard Number 7: Ivory and Gold Sleigh

The artwork on these die-cuts is lovely, and are meant to create a large focal. I used a coordinating printed piece of Adorable Scorable that has the same colors as the die-cuts, is covered with a snowflake print, but with a nice reddish-brown border that matches the sleigh. I used an ivory card base and mounted part of the Adorable Scorable on the front and used the border portion to cover the inside of the card. I glued the framing die-cut pieces directly onto the Adorable Scorable, doing my best to center and align all of the pieces. I then placed the oval-shaped artwork with Santa in his sleigh in the center, and I used foam squares to elevate the center design. I added some red rhinestones to really make the design pop.

sleigh card insideFor the inside, I used one of the border pieces that came with this set across the top of the inside, added some gold snowflakes and popped tiny red stickers in the center of each snowflake. I stamped the sentiment “Joyous songs and Christmas cheer may laughter & friendship be yours all year!” with gold ink on ivory cardstock and matted the shape onto dark red paper that coordinated with the border.

Additional Items Used:

village shops cardCard Number 8: Village Shops

village shops inside cardI used a center step card for this design, which slightly overlaps the center part of the card I had ½ sheet of the navy Adorable Scorable that matched the village die-cuts and trimmed a 1 inch strip for the bottom of the card, and used the rest on the inside of the card. I had a piece of Adorable Scorable that ha a dark red Nordic print, that had a top and bottom foiled border.   I trimmed the foiled portions of the border to about 9/8 inch for each side section. I used a red with gold foiled border strip to place on the navy cardstock on the bottom of the card and added a shiny red twill bow to the bottom left corner of the central image. The dark blue, dark red and gold foiling make an extremely elegant card.

For the inside of the card I die-cut a 3 ½ scalloped-edge circle from the Nordic printed cardstock and placed a navy blue and gold foiled die-cut that is printed with “Merry Christmas to You” on the center of the circle. The only extra bits that I added to this card were the navy suede paper, the ribbon and gold border dazzles from Hot Off the Press’s Thin Gold Lines Dazzles: http://www.paperwishes.com/products/4102404

I am very pleased with how elegant these two cards turned out.

3 thoughts on “Christmas Cards with Pizazz

Leave a Reply

